• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
27 July 2012

The 2012 Lateral Drift Championship gets sideways this Saturday

After nine action-packed rounds and one new champion in 2011, the Lateral Drift Championship is finally ready to get sideways this 2012, starting with the 1st Round this Saturday, July 28, at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila. The tire-burning action begins promptly at 1:00 PM and last through the night until 8:00 PM. Admission is free to anyone who wants to see these monsters burn up some rubber. 
Get ready for the 7th year running of the Philippines' premier drifting series. This season will have a full calendar of six rounds that will begin this July and last until the month of November. Four of the rounds will be held in the heart of Manila at the Quirino Grandstand, while the remaining two will take the challenge back to the Clark International Circuit in Pampanga.
This season will see a new set of judges take the stage. Lateral Drift co-founder Mon Rayos will now be joined by Filipino pride Asian Formula 3 Champion Pepon Marave and Karting Champion JP Cariño. All three will keep a very close eye on drift speed, angle, and style. A rule change for the 2012 season now sees the Amateur drivers compete separately from the Pros as opposed to last year's combined system. 
With more than 40 Amateur and Pro drivers from all over the region vying for the crown, 2011 Champion Audel Sison will have his hands full defending his title. Top names such as Gio Rodriguez, Raymond Ronquillo, Atoy Llave, Boodie Dabasol, Pacho Blanco, Ryan Agoncillo, and 5-time Champion Alex Perez will surely be hot on his heels and give him a good run for his money.
Rain or shine, expect a whole-day of adrenaline-pumping sideways action at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila for the 1st Round of the 2012 Lateral Drift Championship.
The 2012 Lateral Drift Championship is sponsored by Atoy Customs, Dickies, DC, Light Hands Dental Center, Aikka Paint, and EDSA Hosting, with media partners Wave 891, Philippine Daily Inquirer, Autoreview, Top Gear Philippines, StoplightTV, Motorcycle Magazine, Power Wheels Magazine,, Racing Beat, and
2012 Lateral Drift Championship calendar:
Round 1: July 28 (Sat) - Quirino Grand Stand
Round 2: August 18 (Sat) - Clark International Speedway
Round 3: September 8 (Sat) - Quirino Grand Stand
Round 4: September 29 (Sat) - Quirino Grand Stand
Round 5: October 13 (Sat) - Clark International Speedway
Round 6: November 10 (Sat) - Quirino Grand Stand