• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
25 July 2012

2012 Circuit Showdown Leg 5: Marcelo breaks Anton’s reign

With over 60 entrants for the Time Trial event and 25 cars in the main Grid Race hailing from as far as Cebu and Davao City, the fifth leg of the 2012 GT Radial - Circuit Showdown kicked off last July 7, 2012 at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC). Once again, all eyes were on Carlos Anton who was aiming for his fifth consecutive win in the Time Trial Open Class. But, series newcomer Stephano Marcelo in his Mitsubishi EVO VII rose up to the challenge and broke Anton's reign.
Time Trials
Stephano Marcelo's best time of 1:44.809 beat the previous track record by over a second and shattered Championship leader Carlos Anton's time of 1:46.013 by almost two seconds. Coming in at third Joby Tanseco in his Nissan GT-R with a lap of 1:51.120.
Bracket B, Toby Santiago leads the pack with his 1:58.896 lap time, followed closely by Chad Parian, and JP Pacres. Meanwhile, Jesse Mance edged out second placer Alan Arguelles by only a 0.071 second margin, with Marvin Cabreza completing the top three spots.
Nico Canyete, who travelled all the way from Davao, managed to top the time sheets in Bracket D with a best lap of 2:05.017, putting him ahead of Mao Dy and Edwin Rodriguez. The Mitsubishi-filled Bracket E saw a tight battle between Lexter Sy, Alain Matias, and Edward Pujol who finished first, second, and third respectively. In Bracket F, Jeremy Jimenez's time of 2:10.601 is actually quick enough for second spot in Bracket D. He is then followed by Patrick Suiza and Alex Ramos.
Grid Race
In the main seven lap sprint race, Paolo Mantolino made up for last round's deficit and led the race from start to finish. He had a comfortable 4.0 second lead over second placer Nino Garcia, and another 10.0 seconds over Rafael LaO' in third. This victory puts Mantolino 1 point ahead of Eggy Ong in the title's race.  
Underdog Alan Arguelles once again showed that driver skill outweighs horsepower, beating ex-F3 driver Philip Alvendia and Philippine GT drive Bong Perez in Grid B. A consistent performance gave Arguelles a comfortable 29 point lead in the championship. Completing the top three spots on the podium in Grid C were Marcus Timbol, Edward Pujol, and Sandy de Guzman.
Leg 6 of 2012 Circuit Showdown series will be on August 4, 2012 at the Batangas Racing Circuit
2012 Circuit Showdown Leg 5 Full Results
Circuit Showdown is sponsored by GT Radial, HKS SuperOil, Rota Wheels, V-KOOL, Staging Lanes, Egghead, Top Gear Philippines, Dixel, ACCS, Runstop Rotors, PhilGerma, Foil-A-Car, ECW Performance, and Discovery Suites.   
For more info log on to