• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
02 February 2011

Ford - Tuason Racing dominates the PPCC

Tuason Racing School Press Release
The Ford Focus - TRS racing team came out victorious after dominating the Philippine Production Car Championships (PPCC), winning 8 out of 11 races in the 2010 season besting different car makes and racing teams. The team's field of five drivers were composed of British national Sean Redpath, Singaporean Marcus Wong, executive Bobby Horrigan, Champion Drifter Bjorn Ongtiabok, and Top Driver Challenge winner Alvin Ng. 

The final four rounds of the PPCC was held at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga last January 8 and 9, 2011. There, the Ford-TRS racing team became the benchmark of the competition by being the fastest the whole weekend. Alvin Ng qualified on pole for Saturday's race while TRS' driver Bjorn Ongtiabok clocked in a record-setting 2:24.8sec lap time in his 1.8L Ford Focus race car - a lap time which is almost 3 seconds faster than the other teams and saw Ongtiabok start on pole for Sunday's race. 
Wong won race 9 and 11, while Redpath won race 10. However, the team did not come out unscathed. Series points leader Sean Redpath was taken out on race 11, when Dean Joson crashed into his car despite Joson being already blacked flagged out of the race earlier. On the other hand, Alvin Ng was forced to retire after Stefan Ramirez lost his brakes on his car and accidentally crashed into the unexpecting Ng.

Sadly, the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) decided to cancel race 12 due to the dangerous driving they had observed and the numerous incidents that occurred during the previous races. Especially after the horrific crash between the BRE Chevy Cruze and DKC Honda Civic saw DKC driver Arnel Carlos fly into the barriers coming out of the last turn. Ending the championship with points scored in 11 races, Ford Focus - TRS driver, Marcus Wong and Sean Redpath was crowned Champion and first runner-up crown respectively. 

“2010 has been such a good year for TRS racing team for winning the karting, Drifting, GT and now PPCC crown. We are very thankful for all the blessings and support given to us by all our partners and our team which consist of Mike Tuason,  Jose Gabriel, Jimmy Magat, Jason Bautista, Rey Perez, Jun Jun Delos Reyes and the rest of the team,” quipped JP Tuason, multi-awarded race car driver & Founder of Tuason Racing School. “We really worked hard in preparing for all the races.  We wanted to make sure that we deserved the win, by abiding with all the rules, made sure our cars are in their best fighting form and provided world class training for our racers,”  he added.

The TRS racing team is supported by Ford Racing, Castrol, Goodyear Racing, Standard Insurance, OMP, Discovery Suites, DC shoes, Coke Zero, Oakley, Aguila Auto Glass, 3M, C! Magazine, Dupont, Starbright Bodykits, Ultra Racing, Speedlab, Toptul, Rota Wheels and K&N.

For more information please log on to