• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
29 June 2012

Six Philippine teams to compete in the 2012 Shell Eco-marathon Asia

This July 4 to 7, 2012, 134 student teams from 18 countries all over Asia and the Middle East will line up on the grid at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia to see who can travel the farthest on a single liter of fuel. This is the 2012 Shell Eco-marathon Asia
Six university teams from the Philippines will be participating in this year's competition. The roster includes De La Salle University - Manila, Technological Institute of the Philippines, University of the Philippines - Diliman, and University of San Carlos. Last year, the University of the Philippines’ Team Kidlat won the Diesel Fuel Award under the Urban Concept category by achieving 60 km/L with their car. Meanwhile, the Mapua Institute of Technology won second place for the Safety Award under the Prototype Category and ran 186 km/L of gasoline. The Philippine contingent surely hopes to do one better this year.
Shell's super-mileage challenge is designed to inspire student innovation and help develop future fuel-saving technologies for transportation performance. And to help meet the growing energy demand and reduce future CO2 emissions, Shell Eco-marathon Asia challenges its participants to design, build, and test vehicles to go the farthest distance using the least amount of energy.
Teams can join in one or both of the “Prototype” and “UrbanConcept” classes. Streamlined futuristic prototypes enter the “Prototype” category - focused on maximizing fuel efficiency through innovative design elements, such as drag reduction. The “UrbanConcept” class, on the other hand, focuses on more “roadworthy” fuel-efficient vehicles - aimed at meeting the real-life needs of drivers and look more like road-going vehicles. This year, there's a total of 91 “Prototype” and 44 “UrbanConcept” entries from the region. 
A prize money totaling US$ 42,000 is at stake at the 2012 Shell Eco-marathon Asia. The first prize of US$ 2,000 will be awarded to the winning team in each fuel category listed, followed by the second prize of US$ 1,000. New off-track awards valued at US$ 1,000 each are also available for “Eco-Design”, “Best Team Spirit”, and “Perseverance in the Face of Adversity”.
Last year’s Shell Eco-marathon Asia winner in the Prototype internal combustion engine category, Luk Jao Mae Khlong Prapa from Thailand, recorded an amazing 2,213.4 km on one liter of fuel.
The Shell Eco-marathon Asia will be hosted again at the Sepang International Circuit in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 2013, after which the regional event will take place in Manila, Philippines from 2014 to 2016. For more information on the 2012 Shell Eco-marathon, visit the Shell Eco-marathon website at