07 September 2015

Walter Zamora victorious at the Yokohama

philgt4 01

Walter Zamora shows consistency is key to victory at the Yokohama Philippine GT Round 4

Clark International Speedway, Philippines (01 September 2015) – Bagging two class wins, Walter Zamora was the biggest winner of the 4th round of the 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship. Held last August 30 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS), he began the race weekend with high sprits, citing that his Walter Lights and Sound Honda Civic EK was performing in top condition. This allowed him take GT 200 class wins in the Sprint and GT Race.

philgt4 02

The smaller 9-car grid consisted of some familiar faces such as lone GT 300 driver Willie Torres, last year's GT 200 champion Paolo Mantolino, and Edwin Rodriguez in the new Mazda 2 Skyactiv race car. However, there were several absentees such as Taysan Mayor Dondon Portugal, and brothers Richmon and Patrick dela Rosa, who are all championshp contenders in their respective classes. Still, there was more than enough on-track action to keep the teams and spectator on their toes.

philgt4 03

In 9-lap Sprint Race, Torres took an early lead and built a significant gap to comfortably win the race. Trailing behind was Paolo Mantolino who showed exceptional pace in his chrome-liveried Honda Civic FD. However, he suffered a tire puncture with only a few laps to go and needed pit in to change the flat. This handed the GT 200 victory to Walter Zamora.

philgt4 04

The abense of Patrick dela Rosa meant it was head-to-head battle between SM Bonus teammates Dindo De Jesus and NR Joaquin in GT 150 with Joaquin taking 1st place in class. As for GT 100, Ivan Diaz was able to stay ahead and take 1st in class despite colliding with Edwin Rodriguez on lap 5. Unfortunately for Rodriguez, the  heavy damage sustained by his Mazda 2 Skyactiv would force him to retire. This allowed Joginder “King” Sin and Rhaffy Latorre to take 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

philgt4 05

In contrast to the morning's sunny conditions, the afternoon's 15-lap GT Race was plauged by heavy downpour. Willie Torres had the upper hand in the tricky conditions as his four-wheel-drive Mitsubishi Evolution VIII allowed him to take the lead from the start until the chequered flag came out. But his efforts would all go to waste after his race car was disqualified in the post-race technical inspection. Likewise, Mantolino suffered the same fate, excluding him from the final standings and giving the GT 200 class win to Walter Zamora.

The GT Race also saw a repeat of NR Joaquin and Dindo De Jesus' battle for the GT 150 lead. But this time around, De Jesus would claim 1st after Joaquin suffered a spin and a sudden power loss during the race.

As for GT 100, 3 out of the 4 drivers simply didn't luck on their side, allowing Ivan Diaz in the Mohspeed Honda Civic EG to claim his 8th straight race win this year. Joginder “King” Sin ended up in the gravel after locking up his wheels on the very 1st lap. Rhaffy Latorre, who already had a 30 second penalty for a jumpstart violation, then failed to finish due to a blown tire. Finally, Edwin Rodriguez was disqualified after the race after failing the dyno test.

In the Philminiracers Classic Mini Cup, Jason Choachuy, Rick Jason De Guzman, and Rodney Caballero finished 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, respectively in the Pre Final. Sadly, the Final race had to be cancelled due to bad weather. Meanwhile, Dexter Daquigan and his VW Beetle took 1st place in the Classic Aspirated Cup's Pre Final. He was followed closely behind by a hard charging Fil Gulfin, and Raffy Locson in 3rd. The same drivers would eventually finish in the same order in the Final race.

Dominic Bon took top spot during the chaotic yet exciting Sparco Cup Bracket Race, with Emerson Ocampo settling for 2nd and Dion Ortiz in 3rd. The Grid Race, however, had to be cancelled due to bad weather.

In the Miata Cup, Santino Santiago took top spot for Race 1, while Allan Lavarro claim 1st in Race 2. Finally, the DTM Revival race saw Mig Dizon finish in 1st, Enrique Hormillo in 2nd, while Patrick Chan crossed the line in 3rd.

The 2015 Philippine GT Championship heads to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) on September 26/27 for the penultimate round. The races are sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc., Sparco, and Aguila Auto Glass, with support from the official dyno provider, Speedlab.

For more info or inquiries about the Philippine GT Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at www.facebook.com/BatangasRacingCircuit or log on to www.batangasracingcircuit.org.