03 September 2015

Yokohama Philippine GT Championship reaches 2015 season halfway point

philgt4 main

MANILA, Philippines (25 August 2015) – There were only a handful of drivers on the grid when the Yokohama Philippine GT Championship got underway three months ago. But the action-packed 2015 season is now in full swing as it reaches its halfway point this August 29/30 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

The line-up has grown from the initial 10 to the current 16 drivers who are competing in the championship's four classes: GT 300, GT 200, GT 150, and GT 100.

Leading the point standings is Willie Torres in the W-Autosport Mitsubishi Evolution VIII who has so far dominated the last two rounds. He now has a 50 point lead over Team Häfele's Veli-Matti Kaikkonen in GT 300 with 110 points. Taysan Batangas Mayor Dondon Portugal, on the other hand, sits in 3rd with 40 points from his victory in round 3.

In GT 200, Richmon Dela Rosa in the Honda Civic Del Sol may have won most of the races this season, but he only holds a slim 44 point lead over Walter Zamora in 2nd. Close behind in 3rd is last year's class champion Paolo Mantolino who has collected 109 points despite a DNF in round 2.

As for GT 150, Patrick Dela Rosa in the white Honda Civic EK hatchback sits comfortably on the top of the standings with 135 points. Dino de Jesus in another Civic EK hatchback is 2nd while his SM Bonus teammate NR Joaquin is 3rd.

Finally, the young Ivan Diaz, who just turned 19 years old this month, has dominated the GT 100 class. He has won all of the races this year and now has 180 points in the driver's championship. But close behind is reigning GT 100 champion Edwin Rodriguez who's putting a strong fight with his brand new Mazda 2 SKYACTIV race car. In 3rd is Joginer King Sin with 117 points.

Sponsored by Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines, Inc. (YTSP), Round 4 of the Philippine GT Championship will host the official Practice Sessions on Saturday followed by a 10-lap Sprint Race and 17-lap GT Race on Sunday.

Other support races that will share the track with Philippine GT are the Philminiracers Championship Series, Classic Aspirated Cup, Miata Cup, and the Philippine DTM Revival. There will also be the Sparco Bracket Circuit Racing and and Sparco Grid Race that can be entered for a minimal entry fee of P2,500/car. This is inclusive of Free Practice on Saturday and a Time Trial, Bracket Race, and Grid Race on Sunday.

The 2015 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc., Sparco, and Aguila Auto Glass with support from the official dyno provider, Speedlab.

For more info or inquiries about the Yokohama Philippine GT Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at www.facebook.com/BatangasRacingCircuit or log on to www.batangasracingcircuit.org.