18 June 2015


IMG 6668

Over a thousand spectators and off-road enthusiasts witnessed one of the toughest NASFOR CUP race ever last June 6 and 7, 2015 in Dipolog City.Â

Designed by host club, Dipolog Unlimited Offroad, twenty-nine racers encountered one of the most difficult NASFOR race track in the history of the race in Track A of the 6th leg of this years NASFOR CUP.Â

The event began promptly at 10AM of June 6 with the qualifying run scheduled to end in the afternoon. But because of a challenging Track A, the qualifying run which required racers to navigate Track A and B lasted until 4PM of June 7. The track featured a steep incline which became more difficult to traverse as more drivers attempted to climb it. The wet condition in the area made the soil more moist and sticky making it hard for the racers to gain the traction they need to overcome the obstacle.

A solution was reached by drivers who were yet to make their Track A run. The remaining racers invoked a NASFOR rule which allowed racers to use a tool to aid them provided that this be removed before the racer crosses the finish line. This came in a form of an improvised ramp that the driver may use to attack the incline.Â

Michael Cerin of Davao 4Wheelers took top honors followed by Norman Bengco of the Kapampangan Racing Team. Bong Collado of Isabela Extreme took third spot.

The Dipolog leg immediately followed the Javier, Leyte leg held a week earlier and was hosted by Mayor Sonny Javier and the local government of Javier and supported locally by Andoks. Unlike the Dipolog leg which was very technical in design, the Javier track was designed to allow drivers to showcase both their speed and technical skills.

Top honors went to Bong Collado of Isabela Extrem followed by current driver of the year Tonton Dungca of the Kapampangan Racing Team with team mate Norman Bengco taking third place.

After the 6th leg, Michael Cerin leads the driver of the year standing, followed by Reynan Jayme of Waig Adventure Team. Sitting at third is Pietro Jaime Garbes of the Kapampangan Racing Team.

The sixth installment of the race was supported by Banco Dipolog, and the local government of Dipolog City, NASFOR CUP 2015 would also like to acknowledge its national sponsors Maxxis tires, Toptul, 199Offroadhouse, Racetech Suspensions.