03 June 2015

Final leg of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship to be staged on May 30

ndrc4 preevent

MANILA, Philippines (26 May 2015) – At the peak of summer, the National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) will be staging the 4th and final round of the 2015 Northern Series this coming May 30 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

This comes right after the Southern Series came to a close two weeks earlier, where Jonathan Tiu and Martin Manalo ruled the Quick 8 and Pro Class, respectively. The reason behind the the compressed race calendar is because drag cars cannot compete on damp or wet conditions. Thus, the NDRC utilizes the first half of the year while the weather is dry.

Sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), the 4th and final round will be a showdown between the top drivers in the 6 classes. Bill Hand in the “Blue Haze” Ford custom roadster is currently tied in the Quick 8s with Jonathan Tiu having 25 points each. But it won't be a striaght-up battle down the strip as Tiu is expected to bring out a brand new machine for the final showdown. Vanni Garcia in the W-Autosports/Vannitec Racing Mitsubishi Cyborg also has a mathematical chance at the Quick 8 title with his 16 championship points.

It's a similar story in the M&H Tires-sponsored Super Pro Class with Tiu leading the championship with 30 points, followed by Bill Hand with 25.

Meanwhile, newly-crowned Southern Series Pro Class champion Martin Manalo will be looking forward to another title in the Northern Series. That's if he can beat John Rizya in the “Thunder” Camaro who's only 10 points behind in the standings.

With a 16 point lead in the Expert Class, Arvin Millet can afford to sit this race out and still walk away with the title. It's a very different story, however, in the Sportsman Class where the top 6 drivers still have a fighting chance in the championship race. Leading the standings are Joseph Samaniego, Ronald Lucero, and Lennel Diaz who are all tied at 15 points.

Finally, Benok Licudine sits in 1st place in the Hotstreet Class with 35 points, followed by Harly Calubiran and Terenz Hormillosa in 2nd with 20 points each.

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

Registration starts at 6:30 AM followed by the practice runs at 7:00 AM. The qualifiers will then promptly begin at 9:00 AM and competition at 11:00 AM.

Entry fee is P2,000 per driver, plus a P300 day license from AAP and P400 for insurance. Pro Class drivers, however, must secure an AAP National Competition License to join.

For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at www.facebook.com/BatangasRacingCircuit or log on to www.batangasracingcircuit.org.