21 May 2015

Hod rods dominate the 2nd leg of the NDRC Northern Series in Clark

ndrcnorth2 01

Clark International Speedway, Philippines (17 February 2015) – Instead of the usual Japanese-powered machines, it was pure American muscle that dominated the 2nd leg of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC). The quickest of which was William “Bill” Hand in his custom 1933 Ford 2-door Sedan aptly named named “Blue Haze.”

ndrcnorth2 03

Held last February 14, 2015 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS), Bill Hand from the Angeles Hot Rod Association was able to outrun the reigning champion Jonathan Tiu in the Quick 8 semi-finals after a poor start from Tiu. Hand then took on Garage Power's John Rizya to win the Quick 8s with a 10.201 second run. This left Rizya in the 1967 “Thunder” Camaro to claim 2nd and Tiu 3rd in class.

ndrcnorth2 04

Hand and Tiu once again went head-to-head in the Super Pro Class. But this time, Tiu in the JCT-Blanche Nissan GT-R got the upper hand and won the quarter mile sprint with a 9.183 second run. Although Hand broke out of this 10.00 second dial-in time, the veteran was still able to finish 2nd in Super Pro.

ndrcnorth2 05

Meanwhile, Arvin Millet in the TEMZ Automart Honda Civic, who usually competes in the Expert Class, moved up to much-faster Pro Class and pulled the biggest surprise of the day. Millet and his mighty Honda Civic battled with John Rizya's old school Camaro in the Pro Class finals. Although he only managed a 12.510 second run versus Rizya's 11.437, the bracket racing system followed by the NDRC allowed Millet to take 1st place thanks to his consistent performance and quick reaction time. 3rd place then went to Jonathan Young in the JCT-Blanche Honda Integra.

ndrcnorth2 06

In the Expert Class, Allen Roldan out-dragged Morris Miranda in the finals to claim 1st place, putting Miranda in 2nd, while Chris Jayson Millet finished in 3rd.

As for the highly-contested Sportsman Class, Ronald Lucero earned a hard-fought 1st place after Angelo Victor Lansanga ran a red light to the start of the finals, leaving Lansanga in 2nd. Jed Yulo, on the other hand, still managed to finish 3rd despite breaking out of this dial-in time.

Finally, 1st place in the Hot Street Class went to Benok Licudine, followed by Rafael Evangelista in 2nd, and Terez Hormillosa in 3rd.

The National Drag Racing Championship heads back to Batangas Racing Circuit for the second leg of the Southern Series on March 7, 2015. The races are sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at www.facebook.com/BatangasRacingCircuit or log on to www.batangasracingcircuit.org.

2015 National Drag Racing Championship Northern Series Leg 2 Results

Pos. Name Time (seconds)

Quick 8
1st William Hand 10.201
2nd John Rizya 11.143
3rd Jonathan Tiu 9.429

Super Pro Class
1st Jonathan Tiu 9.183
2nd William Hand 10.000 (breakout)
3rd -

Pro Class
1st Arvin Millet 12.510
2nd John Rizya 11.437
3rd Jonathan Young 14.597

Expert Class
1st Allen Roldan 13.279
2nd Morris Miranda 12.921 (red light)
3rd Chris Jayson Millet 13.041

Sportsman Class
1st Ronald Lucero 15.332
2nd Angelo Victor Lansanga 15.178 (red light)
3rd Jed Yulo 13.857 (breakout)

Hot Street Class
1st Benok Licudine 16.020 (bye run)
2nd Rafael Evangelista 16.640 (breakout)
3rd Terez Hormillosa 19.015

1. Quick 8 is a 'Heads-Up' class, where the quickest of two competitors wins the race.
2. Super Pro, Pro, Expert, Sportsman, and Hot Street Class are 'Bracket Racing' classes, where competitors set a dial-in time where they must run as close to it, but not go any faster.
3. “Withdraw” is when a participant withdraws from competition due to mechanical fault.
4. “Red light” is when a participant takes off from starting line before the green light has flashed.
5. “Break out” is when a participant's quarter mile time is quicker than his/her declared dial-in time.
6. “Bye run” is when a participant does a solo run when his competitor is unable to make the run.

For concerns or inquiries about this press release, please contact:

Christopher Kho
PR Manager, Time Attack Manila
+63 917-540-0177
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it