• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
04 June 2013

10 Filipino teams take on the challenge of the 2013 Shell Eco-marathon Asia

ecomarathon2013 philippines
For most students, summer is the time to go on vacation or enjoy other “extra curricular activities.” But there's an exception. A bunch of engineering students from different universities and colleges around the Philippines have been toiling away to get their machines ready for this year's Shell Eco-marathon Asia.
The third edition of the Shell Eco-marathon Asia will once again be held at the Sepang International Circuit in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from July 4 to 7, 2013. Around 1,500 students from 18 countries in Asia are expected to compete this year. The Philippine contingent, on the other hand, will have a total of 10 teams from top engineering schools in the Philippines - four more than in 2012.
Returning this year are De La Salle University - Manila (two car entries), Technological Institute of the Philippines - Quezon City and Manila, University of San Carlos, and the Mapua Institute of Technology (two car entries). Meanwhile, the three newcomers to the challenge are from the University of Santo Tomas, Don Bosco Technical College, and Polytechnic University of the Philippines - Manila. Sadly, the team from University of the Philippines - Diliman is sitting this one out.
Like before, teams can compete in two categories: Prototype and Urban Concept. Teams can use a variety of energy sources such as gasoline, diesel, bio-fuels, gas to liquids (GTL), and electric.
These are the 10 teams from the Philippines with their respective drivers:
  • De La Salle University - Manila's “DLSU Eco Car Team ICE” | DLSU 100 mkIII (prototype category) driven by Marlon So
  • De La Salle University - Manila’s “DLSU Eco Car Team Electric” | “DLSU Archer” (urban concept category) driven by Laurent Gaffud
  • Technological Institute of the Philippines - Manila’s “TIP Mileage” | “TIP-Urban” (urban concept category) driven by Sheryl Dela Cruz and Wilfred Tenorio
  • Technological Institute of the Philippines - Quezon City’s “TIP Golden Engineers” | “Prevo 2” (urban concept category) driven by Bryan Czar Jacobo
  • University of San Carlos’ “Lahutay 2” | “El Krud”
  • Mapua Institute of Technology’s “Team Cardinals” | “Haribon” (urban concept category) driven by Ian Carlo Cruz and Eugene Paulo Adriano
  • Mapua Institute of Technology | “Aguila” (prototype category)
  • University of Santo Tomas’ “Thomasian Eco-marathon Team” | “Tommi” (prototype category) driven by Jay Richmond Galvez
  • Don Bosco Technical College’s “Ascende Superius” | “Lorenzo” driven by Mark Eduard Nuena
  • Polytechnic University of the Philippines - Manila’s “Team PUP - Manila” | “Tanglaw” (prototype category) driven by Miguel Reyes
The Shell Eco-marathon Asia is a yearly competition developed to inspire young student engineers to design, build, and test energy-efficient vehicles. It supports youth education, encourages innovation, and cultivates the development of leading technology for greater energy efficiency.
To know more about the Shell Eco-marathon and this year’s participating teams, visit