• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
18 March 2013

Mitsubishi's 24th International Junior Tennis Championship hits hard court on March 19

2013 lancercup
We're no big tennis fans here at, but if you're reading this, there's a good chance that you're one. So we'd just like to let you know that Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corp. (MMPC) is finally ready to hit the hard court on March 19, 2013 as they open the 24th Mitsubishi Lancer International Junior Tennis Championship (MLIJTC).
Along with the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and the Philippine Tennis Association (Philta), MMPC is expecting more than 120 players from around the globe to battle it out at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.
The roster of competing top male players will include Nikola Milojevic of Serbia (ITF Ranking 2), Borna Coric of Croatia (ITF Ranking 6), Luke Bambridge of Great Britain (ITF Ranking 24), and Lucas Miedler of Austria (ITF Ranking 34). Meanwhile, the girl's lineup is headed by Ching-Wen Hsu of Taipei (ITF Ranking 7), Ipek Soylu of Turkey (ITF Ranking 33), Nina Stojanovic of Serbia (ITF Ranking 40), and Shilin Xu of China (ITF Ranking 46).
The Philippines, on the other hand, will be represented by no less than 16-year-old ace Jurence Zosimo Mendoza who is ranked 11th on the boys division and 1st at the national level.
For more than two decades, the MLIJTC continues to be a training venue for aspiring future tennis superstars. Our very own players who once competed in the MLIJTC were Francesca La’o, Jennifer Saret, Maricris Fernandez who captured No. 1 ranking in Asia among players under 14 and the last Filipino to win a gold medal in the singles of the Southeast Asian Games, and Francis Alcantara who was an Australian Open Grand Slam winner.
The country’s longest running international junior tennis tournament will be held from March 19 to 24, 2013 at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Stadium. Admission is free!