• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 63
28 September 2012

Let's get it on! The 2012 - 2013 Car of the Year Philippines gets the green light

After a successful launch last September 21, 2012 at the Eton Centris in Quezon City, the Car Awards Group Inc. (CAGI) is all-set to search for the 2012 - 2013 Car of the Year Philippines (COTY-P). Now on its 9th edition, this year's awards has more than 70 new cars vying for the prestigious title, which is one of the biggest turnout in its history. 
The award is open to all new passenger and commercial vehicles launched in the Philippine market between November 1, 2011 and October 31, 2012. Vehicles that have received a minor model change within the period (also known as a “facelift”), on the other hand, must have a revision in either the drivetrain, suspension, or engine to be eligible. They are then grouped into categories by size, class, and price.
New for the 2012 - 2013 COTY-P is the Official Qualitative Test Venue, which is will now be held at Eton Centris. The modern lifestyle strip is situated on a 12-hectare community in Quezon City that features commercial establishments, office buildings, residential towers, and soon-to-rise automobile showrooms - making it the perfect test venue for the awards. A total of nine test dates will be held at at Eton Centris, starting September 29, 2012, just to accommodate this year's large number of nominees. Meanwhile, the Technical Tests will be once again held at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) in Pampanga. 
Though the general public may observe the testing process, please be reminded though that only CAGI-certified motoring journalists are allowed to test the vehicles. 
Past COTY-P winners include the Honda Civic (2005), Mazda 6 (2006), Volvo C30 (2007), Subaru Impreza STI (2008), Subaru Legacy 2.5 Liter GT (2009), Chevrolet Cruze (2010-2011), and the reigning Car of the Year, the Hyundai Elantra. Who will win the coveted title of 2012 - 2013 Car of the Year? Well, that's what we're here to find out. 
The Car of the Year awards is an annual consumer-oriented event organized by CAGI, a non-stock, non-profit organization composed of more than 50 motoring journalists from various print, broadcast, and online media outlets.